The official website of Irish Harness Racing Association

IHRA Office Closure

The IHRA office will be closed from 13.00pm today, December 13th. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

IHRA Committee Meeting 8th of December

Last Saturday, all three sub committee’s of the IHRA (Stakeholders, Breeding & Racecourse) met firstly for a joint meeting. The following items were discussed; Department of Agriculture & Strategic Plan Update, International Weekend Update from the Annual Reunion of Signatory Countries, 2018 AGM, 2018 Awards, New Rulebook, Review of Argentan French-Irish Raceday, Review of VDM, A.O.B.

Racecourse committee at work

After this general meeting, the three committee’s met individually and the following was discussed at each meeting:

Stakeholders Committee:
1. Handicap System Review
2. Claiming System Review
3. 2019 Award Criteria to include the selection procedure for selection of drivers/representatives for international events
4. A.O.B

Breeding Committee:
1. Broodmare Registration & Deregistration
2. AI & Fresh Semen Guidelines/Procedures
3. Passport Issues
4. Mare Classification as per new French Classification
5. A.O.B.

Racecourse Committee:
1. 2019 Calendar
2. Stewarding Seminar
3. Safe guarding for Officials
4. Minimum Standards for Premium Meetings
5. A.O.B

A full report of the three meetings will be published shortly.

Celebrating the best in Paris

Congratulations to Sheehy brothers and all connections of  Vigo de Bassiere winning   Leading Trotteur Francais of the Year title in Ireland!
Kieran and John Sheehy traveled to Paris on 30th of November to receive an award at the ceremony organised by LeTrot and celebrated their achievements with the the best trainers, owners and drivers in Europe.
What an achievement for the trotting people of Cork! 🏆🏆

Review of Handicap System & Claiming Races

At next month’s stakeholders committee meeting, a review of both the IHRA Handicap System & Claiming Races will take place.

Should any member wish to contribute to this review, please email , with “Handicap & Claiming Review” in the subject bar, before Friday 7th December. 


IHRA Office

The IHRA office will be closed all day tomorrow, Wednesday 14th November due to Annual Leave. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Portmarnock Raceway 11th November

Please find attached the Race card as per tonight’s draw.

First Race 1.30pm

 Race card

Argentan 2018

On Sunday 18th November, the now Annual French-Irish Driving Challenge will take place in Argentan Racecourse in Normandy. This year, the board of directors of Argentan racecourse, in conjunction with Le Trot have organised for the first time, a challenge race for apprentice drivers (U25)  to compete on the 1325 metre track.

An Irish Delegation will depart on the weekend 16th November along with official representatives of the IHRA. This years itinerary includes visits to some of Normandy’s top training and breeding facilities.

The drivers selected for the this year’s challenge are:

Professional Drivers: Philip Gilligan, Mark Kane, Sean Kane, Darren Timlin, Patrick Hill, Simon Duggan, Wayne Swindle & Seamus Quill.

Apprentices: Jonathan Cowden, John O’Mahony, Freddy Kavanagh, Erin Flanagan, Stephen Wallace, Daniel Mc Ateer, Oisin Quill, Aidan Caffrey & Marcus Mc Aleer.

The IHRA would like to wish the best of luck to all the drivers participating in this years French-Ireland Challenge.



November 11th Entry List

Please find attached the full list of entries and the current grades of horses entered for this coming Sunday.
All horses on this list are liable for the required entry fee.
The grades are the horses current grades prior to receiving their c class allowances or claiming price tags.

Entry List 11th November 2018

Website Security Test